The 2016 Oscar Nominations

hidden-figures

Dear reader, I have lots of thoughts. These nominations are giving me whiplash. So happy one second, so angry/disappointed the next.

But let’s get on with it, shall we?

Best Picture

  • Arrival
  • Fences
  • Hacksaw Ridge
  • Hell or High Water 
  • Hidden Figures
  • La La Land
  • Lion
  • Manchester by the Sea
  • Moonlight 

A very decent list. I’m saddened by the fact that I don’t outright “love” any of the nominated movies, although I think they’re all pretty solid… except for Hacksaw Ridge, that movie is garbage. But more of that in a second. The big story here (and of the nominations overall) is that La La Land got 14 (the most for any film sharing the record with Titanic and All About Eve), and is in a pretty good position to win the most Oscars ever won by a single film (it would have to win 12 to beat the record of 11 shared by Ben-Hur, Titanic, and The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King).
How I did in my predictions: 8 out of 9
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: La La Land

Director

  • Denis Villeneuve (Arrival)
  • Mel Gibson (Hacksaw Ridge)
  • Damien Chazelle (La La Land)
  • Kenneth Lonergan (Manchester by the Sea)
  • Barry Jenkins (Moonlight)

Don’t want to go on a rant about how this is the kind of horse-shit that happens in Trump’s America or anything, but let’s think of the fact that Mel Gibson (Mel Gibson!) got nominated this morning. Worst part of it is, even putting aside the morality of nominating this man, his movie was a pile of garbage! Speaking of piles of garbage, I’m really happy Nocturnal Animals didn’t get in for either of these categories, as it seemed for a while like it might have.
How I did in my predictions: 4 out of 5
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: Damien Chazelle

Lead Actor

  • Casey Affleck (Manchester by the Sea)
  • Andrew Garfield (Hacksaw Ridge)
  • Ryan Gosling (La La Land)
  • Viggo Mortensen (Captain Fantastic)
  • Denzel Washington (Fences)

I’ve spoken my piece about Captain Fantastic and how terrible it is, so I won’t say more. In a broader sense, this is the third year in a row in which we have a very boring and unimpressive Lead Actor category.
How I did in my predictions: 5 out of 5
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: Casey Affleck

Lead Actress

  • Isabelle Huppert (Elle)
  • Ruth Negga (Loving)
  • Natalie Portman (Jackie)
  • Emma Stone (La La Land)
  • Meryl Streep (Florence Foster Jenkins)

This is the category where the whiplash happens. Isabelle Huppert got nominated? I can’t believe it, amazing! Ruth Negga got nominated? I haven’t seen Loving yet, but what a refreshing and exciting nomination! Natalie Portman? Great. Emma Stone? Sure, she was good too… and… is that… Meryl Streep? For Florence Foster Jenkins? Look, we all loved her speech at the Golden Globes, but nominating her for this movie… over Annette Bening’s career-best performance in 20th Century Women? I don’t know how to cope.
How I did in my predictions: 4 out of 5
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: Emma Stone

Supporting Actor

  • Mahershala Ali (Moonlight)
  • Jeff Bridges (Hell or High Water)
  • Lucas Hedges (Manchester by the Sea)
  • Dev Patel (Lion)
  • Michael Shannon (Nocturnal Animals)

So, let’s talk about Nocturnal Animals. For a while there it seemed like the wretched movie was going to stomp in and sweep all sorts of awards. It also seemed, especially after his unexpected Golden Globe win, like Aaron Taylor-Johnson’s performance as a person who has a toilet in his front porch would surely get nominated. Instead, Nocturnal Animals‘ only nomination is for Michael Shannon, who is undoubtedly the very best (and perhaps only good) part about the movie. I’ll take it.
How I did in my predictions: 3 out of 5
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: Mahershala Ali

Supporting Actress

  • Viola Davis (Fences)
  • Naomie Harris (Moonlight)
  • Nicole Kidman (Lion)
  • Octavia Spencer (Hidden Figures)
  • Michelle Williams (Manchester by the Sea)

Nothing surprising here, these five ladies were the expected nominees, and good for them! Although I have to mention it’s kind of remarkable to see three actors of color get nominated in the same category. It’s been at least ten years since this last happened (by my count last time was Supporting Actress 2006, which had Adriana Barraza, Rinko Kikuchi, and eventual winner Jennifer Hudson).
How I did in my predictions: 5 out of 5
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: Viola Davis

Original Screenplay

  • Hell or High Water (Taylor Sheridan)
  • La La Land (Damien Chazelle)
  • The Lobster (Yorgos Lanthimos, Efthimus Filippou)
  • Manchester by the Sea (Kenneth Longergan)
  • 20th Century Women (Mike Mills)

I was resigned to see the horrendous Captain Fantastic get a surprise nomination here, so to see not only my favorite movie of the year (The Lobster, yay!) get nominated, but also a recognition for Mike Mills’ lovely and amazing 20th Century Women? I was ready to make up with Oscar and give him a big smooch.
How I did in my predictions: 4 out of 5
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: Manchester by the Sea 

Adapted Screenplay

  • Arrival (Eric Heisserer)
  • Fences (August Wilson)
  • Hidden Figures (Allison Schroeder, Theodore Melfi)
  • Lion (Luke Davies)
  • Moonlight (Barry Jenkins, Tarrell Alvin McCraney)

This is a solid category, and it’s nice to see diverse movies recognized even if the screenplay is by far the weakest part of Hidden Figures, and what kept me from fully embracing the movie.
How I did in my predictions: 4 out of 5
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: Moonlight 

Cinematography

  • Arrival (Bradford Young)
  • La La Land (Linus Sandgren)
  • Lion (Greig Fraser)
  • Moonlight (James Laxton)
  • Silence (Rodrigo Prieto)

A lot of first-time nominees in this category, and for richly deserving work. Bradford Young and Greig Fraser in particular, have done some of the best cinematography work of the past five years, so it’s great to see them finally be rewarded. In other news, this ended up being the only nomination for Martin Scorsese’s Silence, a movie that has simply failed to connect with a larger audience (even Academy members).
How I did in my predictions: 4 out of 5
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: La La Land 

Production Design

  • Arrival (Patrice Vermette)
  • Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (Stuart Craig)
  • Hail, Caesar! (Jess Gonchor)
  • La La Land (David Wasco)
  • Passengers (Guy Hendrix Dyas)

Nice to see my beloved Hail, Caesar recognized, even if the completist in me now feels like i have to watch Passengers, which is always bad news.
How I did in my predictions: 3 out of 5
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: La La Land 

Costume Design

  • Allied (Joanna Johnston)
  • Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (Colleen Atwood)
  • Florence Foster Jenkins (Consolata Boyle)
  • Jackie (Madeline Fontaine)
  • La La Land (Mary Zophres)

Good list. I’m actually looking forward to catching up with Allied, for some reason.
How I did in my predictions: 4 out of 5
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: La La Land

Film Editing

  • Arrival (Joe Walker)
  • Hacksaw Ridge (John Gilbert)
  • Hell or High Water (Jake Roberts)
  • La La Land (Tom Cross)
  • Moonlight (Nat Sanders, Joi McMillon)

No surprises here. A solid list of Oscar front-runners, although not getting nominated here truly hurts Manchester by the Sea‘s chances to win Best Picture (not that anyone could beat the La La Land juggernaut, but still).
How I did in my predictions: 4 out of 5
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: La La Land 

Original Score

  • Jackie (Mica Levi)
  • La La Land (Justin Hurwitz)
  • Lion (Dustin O’Halloran, Hauschka)
  • Moonlight (Nicholas Britell)
  • Passengers (Thomas Newman)

I must’ve had a mini heart-attack when I heard Mica Levi’s name. This is probably the nomination I’m most happy about this morning. Four out of the five nominees here are newcomers, a very unusual list of nominees considering the Academy’s music branch is notoriously conservative preferring to reward well-established composers.
How I did in my predictions: 3 out of 5
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: La La Land 

Original Song

  • “Audition (The Fools Who Dream)” (La La Lad)
  • “Can’t Stop the Feeling” (Trolls)
  • “City of Stars” (La La Land)
  • “The Empty Chair” (Jim: The James Foley Story)
  • “How Far I’ll Go” (Moana)

The fact that “Drive It Like You Stole It”, or any song from Sing Street for that matter, didn’t get nominated is truly a crime. Now, having said that, am I a complete monster for kind of liking Justin Timberlake’s “Can’t Stop the Feeling”?
How I did in my predictions: 3 out of 5
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: “City of Stars”

Sound Mixing

  • Arrival
  • Hacksaw Ridge
  • La La Land
  • Sully
  • 13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi

Isn’t the fact that I now feel the urge to watch the surely dreadful Passengers enough? You also have to throw Michael Bay’s freaking Benghazi movie in the mix? I feel like I relate to the priests in Silence now.
How I did in my predictions: 3 out of 5
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: La La Land 

Sound Editing

  • Arrival
  • Deepwater Horizon
  • Hacksaw Ridge
  • La La Land
  • Rogue One: A Star Wars Story 

As far as I can tell, La La Land is the first musical to ever get nominated for Sound Editing, which is a category most closely associated with sound effects. The real question is whether its juggernaut status will be big enough for it to win the category.
How I did in my predictions: 4 out of 5
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: Hacksaw Ridge 

Makeup and Hair

  • A Man Called Ove
  • Star Trek Beyond
  • Suicide Squad 

Ok, I’m really excited about two things here. One, Deadpool is not an Oscar nominee. This whole Deadpool is getting awards thing was getting ridiculous, with people thinking it might get in for Best Picture or something, so I’m happy the Academy shut it down. Two, freaking Suicide Squad, a movie so bad it barely counts as a movie gets nominated here and continues the wonderful tradition of God-awful movies getting nominated for the Makeup and Hair Oscar (previous examples: Norbit and Click).
How I did in my predictions: 1 out of 3
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: Star Trek Beyond

Visual Effects

  • Deepwater Horizon
  • Doctor Strange
  • The Jungle Book
  • Kubo and the Two Strings
  • Rogue One: A Star Wars Story 

Listen, if Ex Machina could win this category last year, anything is possible. The campaign to make Kubo and the Two Strings the first animated movie to win Visual Effects starts here! (In case you’re curious it’s not the first to get nominated, The Nightmare Before Christmas lost to Jurassic Park in 1993).
How I did in my predictions: 4 out of 5
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: The Jungle Book  

Animated Feature

  • Kubo and the Two Strings
  • Moana
  • My Life as a Zucchini
  • The Red Turtle
  • Zootopia 

Not much to say here except this looks like a good list, and I’m looking forward to catching up with The Red Turtle and My Life as a Zucchini.
How I did in my predictions: 5 out of 5
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: Zootopia 

Foreign Film

  • Tanna (Australia)
  • Land of Mine (Denmark)
  • Toni Erdmann (Germany)
  • The Salesman (Iran)
  • A Man Called Ove (Sweden)

Have only seen Toni Erdmann, which is fantastic, and I hope it wins.
How I did in my predictions: 5 out of 5
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: Toni Erdmann 

Documentary Feature   

  • Fire at Sea
  • I Am Not Your Negro
  • Life, Animated
  • O.J. Made in America
  • 13th 

I haven’t even tried to watch documentaries this year. The only one I’ve seen is 13th which is pretty good, but I get the feeling will probably not win.
How I did in my predictions: 4 out of 5
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: O.J. Made in America 

 Animated Short

  • Blind Vaysha
  • Borrowed Time
  • Pear Cider and Cigarettes 
  • Pearl
  • Piper

Remember when we all went to see Finding Dory and thought Piper was so much better than the actual movie? Well, here you go. And hey, that other animated short that made the internet cry is also nominated.
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: Piper

Documentary Short

  • Extremis
  • 4.1 Miles
  • Joe’s Violin
  • Watani: My Homeland
  • The White Helmets 

Live Action Short

  • Ennemis Interieurs 
  • La Femme et le TGV
  • Silent Nights
  • Sing
  • Timecode 

Luckily it’s another Sing, not the one with the singing animals that looks like two hours of torture.

2 comments

  1. Yeah, the 13 Hours nomination took me by surprise as well.

  2. smilingldsgirl · January 24

    You always have interesting takes. And Hacksaw Ridge is an amazing story of faith and persevering when everyone tells you to back down. I was so inspired by it. LOL

Leave a Reply

