Nominees for the 88th Annual Academy Awards

leo revenant

Predicting who will get nominated at the Oscars is all fun and games until someone gets hurt. It’s particularly hurtful when one happens to have better taste in movies than the Academy. Anyway, let’s get on with it…

Best Picture

  • The Big Short
  • Bridge of Spies
  • Brooklyn
  • Mad Max: Fury Road
  • The Martian
  • The Revenant 
  • Room
  • Spotlight 

Honestly, I pity the Academy. Imagine having a masterpiece right there in front of you in the form of Carol, and deciding that it isn’t as good a movie as The Revenant? I mean, talk about the Emperor’s new clothes… Just to keep my sanity I’m going to pretend the Academy recognized Carol‘s quality put it above any kind of degrading dog race. In other news, The Revenant is nominated in 12 categories -more than any other movie this year- proving that God does not exist.
How did I do in my predictions: 7 out of 8
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: Spotlight

Best Director

  • Adam McKay (The Big Short)
  • George Miller (Mad Max: Fury Road)
  • Alejandro G. Iñarritu (The Revenant)
  • Lenny Abrahamson (Room)
  • Tom McCarthy (Spotlight)

George Miller really saves this category from being a total dud, and this is coming from someone who really likes McCarthy’s subdued direction of Spotlight. Anyway, those are the only two nominees that actually deserve to be here. Needless to say, my heart weeps for Todd Haynes.
How I did in my predictions: 3 out of 5
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: God save me, I think it might be Iñárritu again

Best Actor

  • Bryan Cranston (Trumbo)
  • Matt Damon (The Martian)
  • Leonardo DiCaprio (The Revenant)
  • Michael Fassbender (Steve Jobs)
  • Eddie Redmayne (The Danish Girl)

Dakota Johnson’s Razzie-nominated performance in Fifty Shades of Grey is better than all of these nominated peformances.* It’s not two years in a row that Best Actor is the worst category at the Oscars. All this talk about women not being able to find good roles becomes especially infuriating when we reward men for doing mediocre work. Where the hell is Michael B. Jordan? He would’ve classed up this joint.
*I haven’t seen Trumbo, but I’m assured it’s not a real movie.
How I did in my predictions: 5 out of 5
Current Prediction of Who WIll Win: Leonardo DiCaprio

Best Actress

  • Cate Blanchett (Carol)
  • Brie Larson (Room)
  • Jennifer Lawrence (Joy)
  • Charlotte Rampling (45 Years)
  • Saoirse Ronan (Brooklyn)

Now that I’ve gotten a lot of complaining out of my system, I must say this is a pretty solid list of nominees. I know some people will be upset about Jennifer Lawrence, and I’m not a huge fan of her either, but she does give a pretty great performance in Joy. Also, Charlotte Rampling managed to get nominated!
How I did in my predictions: 4 out of 5
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: Brie Larson

Best Supporting Actor

  • Christian Bale (The Big Short)
  • Tom Hardy (The Revenant)
  • Mark Ruffalo (Spotlight)
  • Mark Rylance (Bridge of Spies)
  • Sylvester Stallone (Creed)

This list is pretty close to what I predicted, with the groundswell of support for The Revenant pushing Tom Hardy over Idris Elba. Speaking of which, this is the second year in a row that all 20 acting nominees are white. Yup, #OscarSoWhite is alive and kicking the year of Michael B. Jordan and Tessa Thompson (Creed), Teyonah Parris (Chiraq), and Jada Pinkett-Smith (Magic Mike XXL).
How I did in my predictions: 4 out of 5
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: Sylvester Stallone

Best Supporting Actress

  • Jennifer Jason Leigh (The Hateful Eight)
  • Rooney Mara (Carol)
  • Rachel McAdams (Spotlight)
  • Alicia Vikander (The Danish Girl)
  • Kate Winslet (Steve Jobs)

There was a lot of controversy this year about studios wanting Rooney Mara and Alicia Vikander to compete in this category when they are clearly the leads in their film. The Golden Globes nominated them in the Lead category and everything. Well, now we see it’s all for naught. They both get nominated here, and Supporting Actress remains the most unpredictable category of the year.
How I did in my predictions: 3.5 out of 5 (had Alicia Vikander getting in for Ex Machina)
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: Alicia Vikander?

Best Original Screenplay

  • Bridge of Spies (Matt Charman, Joel Coen, Ethan Coen)
  • Ex Machina (Alex Garland)
  • Inside Out (Josh Cooley, Pete Docter, Meg LeFauve)
  • Spotlight (Tom McCarthy, Josh Singer)
  • Straight Outta Compton (Jonathan Herman, Andrea Berloff)

I am so happy that Quentin Tarantino’s grotesquely overlong screenplay for The Hateful Eight didn’t get nominated. This is actually a pretty solid list. I guess this means I’ll have to see Straight Outta Compton? What a strange nominated, by the way, if getting nominated only for Screenplay.
How I did in my predictions: 4 out of 5
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: Spotlight 

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • The Big Short (Adam McKay, Charles Randolph)
  • Brooklyn (Nick Hornby)
  • Carol (Phyllis Nagy)
  • The Martian (Drew Goddard)
  • Room (Emma Donoghue)

I breathe a deep sigh of relief knowing Carol at least got nominated here. Interesting that Aaron Sorkin’s work in Steve Jobs didn’t get nominated just a couple days after he won the Golden Globe. Can’t say I’m surprised, that movie didn’t have as much support as any of these five.
How I did in my predictions: 4 out of 5
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: The Big Short 

Best Animated Feature

  • Anomalisa
  • Boy and the World 
  • Inside Out
  • Shaun the Sheep Movie 
  • When Marnie Was There 

I had this feeling The Peanuts Movie would be snubbed and I was right. I also had this feeling Brazilian independent Boy and the World would get a surprise nomination, but wasn’t bold enough to actually predict it. Also, shout-out to commenter Smilingdsgirl, who saw When Marnie Was There‘s nomination coming when I totally didn’t.
How I did in my predictions: 3 out of 5
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: Inside Out 

Best Cinematography

  • Carol (Ed Lachman)
  • The Hateful Eight (Robert Richardson)
  • Mad Max: Fury Road (John Seale)
  • The Revenant (Emmanuel Lubezki)
  • Sicario (Roger Deakins)

A solid batch of nominees, I guess. This is the second time Robert Richardson gets a surprise nomination for a Quentin Tarantino movie. The Academy really loves him. Here’s hoping Ed Lachman somehow manages to win this award and it’s not Emmanuel Lubezki for a third time in a row.
How I did in my predictions: 4 out of 5
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: The Revenant

Best Costume Design

  • Carol (Sandy Powell)
  • Cinderella (Sandy Powell)
  • The Danish Girl (Paco Delgado)
  • Mad Max: Fury Road (Jenny Beavan)
  • The Revenant (Jacqueline West)

Like I said, The Revenant got 12 nominations. I know, it’s ridiculous. This isn’t even the worst of it, considering Jacqueline West’s fur-work is quite on point. I’m particularly happy about Mad Max: Fury Road and its iconic post-apocalyptic designs getting a nomination. Of course, Carol should win this in a heartbeat.
How I did in my predictions: 3 out of 5
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: Carol 

Best Documentary Feature

  • Amy
  • Cartel Land 
  • The Look of Silence
  • What Happenes, Miss Simone?
  • Winter on Fire: Ukraine’s Fight for Freedom 

Netflix got two nominations in this category for What Happened, Miss Simone? and Winter on Fire. The other three nominees were the expected ones.
How I did in my predictions: 3 out of 5
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: Amy 

Best Film Editing

  • The Big Short (Hank Corwin)
  • Mad Max: Fury Road (Margaret Sixel)
  • The Revenant (Stephen Mirrione)
  • Spotlight (Tom McArdle)
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens (Maryann Brandon, Mary Jo Markey)

The moment during the announcement when Star Wars got nominated for Editing made me think it could get in for Best Picture. Alas, it didn’t happen. It’s a deserving nomination nonetheless. I’m also really happy Spotlight managed to get in, it means it could actually prevent The Revenant from winning Best Picture
How I did in my predictions: 4 out of 5
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: Mad Max: Fury Road 

Best Foreign Film

  • Embrace of the Serpent (Colombia)
  • Mustang (France)
  • Son of Saul (Hungary)
  • Theeb (Jordan)
  • A War (Denmark)

A little surprised German entry Labyrinth of Lies didn’t get nominated considering it was about the Holocaust. I hear good things about Embrace of the Serpent, and Mustang is pretty good. That’s all I have to say.
How I did in my predictions: 3 out of 5
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: Son of Saul 

Best Makeup and Hair

  • Mad Max: Fury Road
  • The 100 Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared 
  • The Revenant

Why is this the only category with three nominees? It makes no sense. Everything else gets five nominees, and it’s not like every movie doesn’t use makeup and hairstyling. I mean, there are five original song nominees for God’s sake! Also, that is a pretty cool title for a movie, 100 Year-Old Man. 
How I did in my predictions: 
2 out of 3
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: The Revenant 

Best Original Score

  • Bridge of Spies (Thomas Newman)
  • Carol (Carter Burwell)
  • The Hateful Eight (Ennio Morricone)
  • Sicario (Johann Johansson)
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens (John Williams)

Hooray for Carter Burwell, who finally gets an Oscar nomination after multiple decades of extraordinary work! This is indeed one of the happiest nominations this year. I’m keeping my fingers crossed he’ll manage to win.
How I did in my predictions: 3 out of 5
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: The Hateful Eight 

Best Original Song

  • “Earned It” (Fifty Shades of Grey)
  • “Til It Happens To You” (The Hunting Ground)
  • “Manta Ray” (Racing Extinction)
  • “Writing’s On the Wall” (Spectre)
  • “Simple Song #3” (Youth)

Oh my God, can we please get rid of this category already? This is where middlebrow documentaries go to die, apparently. Also, I actually don’t mind that Sam Smith song. And also, I kind of love that Fifty Shades of Grey is an Oscar nominee.
How I did in my predictions: 2 out of 5
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: Spectre?

Best Production Design

  • Bridge of Spies (Adam Stockhausen)
  • The Danish Girl (Eve Stewart)
  • The Martian (Arthur Max)
  • Mad Max: Fury Road (Colin Gibson)
  • The Revenant (Jack Fisk)

This is where things start to get really ridiculous. The Revenant takes place almost exclusively outdoors. That’s the whole point of the movie! I can’t believe it got nominated while Judy Becker’s amazingly detailed work in Carol got left out.
How I did in my predictions: 3 out of 5
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: Mad Max: Fury Road 

Best Sound Mixing

  • Bridge of Spies 
  • Mad Max: Fury Road  
  • The Martian
  • The Revenant
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens

I did pretty well here. My only fault was thinking Straight Outta Compton would get in because of all the music and stuff.
How I did in my predictions: 4 out of 5
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: Mad Max: Fury Road 

Best Sound Editing

  • Mad Max: Fury Road 
  • The Martian
  • The Revenant
  • Sicario
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens 

This, along with Lead Actor, are the only categories I predicted right this year.
How I did in my predictions: 5 out of 5
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: Mad Max: Fury Road 

Best Visual Effects

  • Ex Machina 
  • Mad Max: Fury Road 
  • The Martian
  • The Revenant 
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens 

This category looks classier than it usually does. You usually get a Reel Steel or Jurassic World in here. Not this year. This year you get the fucking Revenant. That being said, the visual effects work in all these movies is relatively subtle and really well done. This is a fine set of nominees.
How I did in my predictions: 3 out of 5
Current Prediction of Who Will Win: Star Wars

Best Animated Short

  • Bear Story
  • Prologue
  • Sanjay’s Super Team
  • We Can’t Live Without Cosmos
  • World of Tomorrow 

WORLD OF TOMORROW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

One comment

  1. smilingldsgirl · January 14, 2016

    Thanks for the shout-out. Honestly Boy and the World was a big surprise for me. Did not see that coming! I guess I will have to see the film to know if it is deserved.
    You are totally right about The Revenant and production design. What the heck?
    I liked the Revenant fine but certainly wouldn’t give it so much love. What I personally am more baffled by is Bridge of Spies which everyone seems to have liked more than me. It’s fine but I thought conventional and a little dull. Well made but nothing special. Oh well!
    Glad to see Inside Out get a screenwriting nomination. That’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

