2015 Movie Preview

Carol2015Preview

I’m not done looking back at the movies of 2014 just yet, but today, I can’t help but wanting to sneak a peek into the movies that are coming down the road. What cinematic adventures will 2015 hold for us? Well, let’s se…

The 5 Movies I’m Most Excited About:

Carol – For his first theatrical feature since I’m Not There, director Todd Haynes adapts Patricia Highsmith’s novel The Price of Salt, a lesbian love story set in the 1950s. The amazing cast includes Cate Blanchett, Rooney Mara, Sarah Paulson, Kyle Chandler, and Carrie Brownstein. The only way I could be more excited for the next movie by the director of Safe and Far From Heaven would be if Julianne Moore were starring in it (here’s hoping she makes a cameo appearance!) 

Hail, Caesar! – I’m skeptical on whether or not the Coen Brothers’ next movie will actually be released in 2015. IMDb has February 5, 2016 as its release date, which makes me think it will probably premiere at Cannes or Venice, and will get an Oscar-qualifying run at the end of the year. It really doesn’t matter when it’s released, there is no way I’m not seeing a Coen Brothers movie. This one is supposed to be a comedy about a “fixer” in 1950s Hollywood. The cast includes Scarlett Johansson, Tilda Swinton, George Clooney, Frances McDormand, Ralph Fiennes, and Josh Brolin, so…

TomorrowlandSo far, director Brad Bird has directed three animated classics (The Iron Giant, The Incredibles and Ratatouille), and his live action debut resulted in one of the best action movies of the decade (Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol). His new movie is a science fiction adventure inspired by the futuristic section of Disneyland. Seems like Hollywood might be giving me a present, because the movie opens May 22, a day after my birthday.

That’s What I’m Talking About – There is little known about this movie besides the fact that it is a spiritual sequel to Dazed and ConfusedIt doesn’t matter, after Before Midnight and BoyhoodI will follow Richard Linklater wherever he’s going.

Queen of the Desert – After years of hearing about Werner Herzog’s next project, this is supposed to be playing at the Berlin Film Festival! It’s a movie about the life of Gertrude Bell starring Nicole Kidman. It also features Robert Pattinson as T.E. Lawrence, but the thing I’m really excited about is Herzog returning to narrative features.

Last Year’s Movies That Will Be Released in 2015 (and I’m Most Excited About):

The Look of Silence – Director Joshua Oppenheimer’s follow-up to the magnificent The Act of Killing has been described as sort of a response to that movie, taking a look at the Indonesian genocide from the side of the victims instead of the culprits. It will open in America sometime in July.

Kumiko, the Treasure Hunter – I’ve been waiting for this movie since it premiered almost a year ago at the 2014 Sundance Film Festival. It stars Rinko Kikuchi as Kumiko, a woman who VHS tape of the Coen Brothers’ Fargo and decides to go to Minnesota looking for the movie’s buried treasure. If that doesn’t sound awesome to you, then I don’t think you’re reading the right blog. The wait is over on March 15.

A Pigeon Sat on a Branch Reflecting on Existence – Winner of the Golden Lion at the 2014 Venice Film Festival, all that I’m basing this decision is Swedish director Roy Andersson’s particularly off-beat sense of humor. That should be more than enough. No American release date has been announced yet, though.

Clouds of Sils Maria – The one thing that keeps me from being too excited about Sils Maria is that Chloë Moretz is in it… On the other hand, it’s the new movie by French auteur Olivier Assayas, and it stars Juliette Binoche as an aging actress, so I’m still very excited. It opens on limited release April 10.

Maps to the Stars – I kind of hated David Cronenberg’s Cosmopolisbut according to the Golden Globes this is supposed to be a comedy -or a satire at the least. There’s no way I won’t see it really, since it stars two of my favorite actresses (Julianne Moore and Mia Wasikowska).

Movies I’m Cautiously Optimistic About (But Will Definitely See)

Star Wars: The Force Awakens – I have grown too cynical to be too excited about the first Star Wars movie in ten years (even if George Lucas is not involved). Still, I must admit the trailer did bring up some awesome childhood memories. I mean, what am I going to do? Not see it?

Avengers: Age of Ultron – Kind of opposite to the Star Wars situation, if I were basing my enthusiasm in the last Avengers movie (and writer-director Joss Whedon’s talent), I should be really excited. The truth is that that last trailer, and the recent streak of underwhelming Marvel movies have me very cautious about what I’m going to see.

Trainwreck – Every single one of Judd Apatow’s movies has been worse than the last, culminating with the atrocious This is 40. Why am I excited about his latest project, then? Well, because it was written by and stars comedian Amy Schumer, who might bring a smarter and fresher take to Apatow’s wandering and self-indulgent style.

Inside Out – After a couple of disappointments, the trailer for Pixar’s newest movie doesn’t look all that promising, but considering the man in charge is Pete Docter (Monster’s Inc, Up), I’m willing to give it a try.

The Hateful Eight – I wasn’t a fan of Django Unchainedso having Tarantino go back and make another western isn’t very exciting to me. Then again, Tarantino is a smart and fun director, so I’m hoping he comes up with something great, and weirdly enough, the fact that Christoph Waltz isn’t in the movie gets a big sigh of relief from me.

Movie I’m Not Excited About

Knight of Cups – Terrence Malick directs a movie that is supposed to put you in the mind of Christian Bale? No thank you…

3 comments

  1. smilingldsgirl · January 29, 2015

    Cool. I hadn’t heard of a lot of those. I’m really excited for Star Wars. I feel like Marvel has made some really great movies so we disagree on that. (You really didn’t like Capt 2, Guardians of the Galaxy?). The one thing that makes me nervous is the trailer felt very Man of Steelish and I hated Man of Steel. I’m so tired of morose brooding super hero movies.

    Here’s my list. I can’t believe you didn’t like the trailer for Inside Out. I thought it was brilliant. So excited! And Good Dinosaur looks interesting. It will probably be a weaker year in animation than 2014 which I loved.

    http://54disneyreviews.wordpress.com/2014/12/25/anticipated-movies-of-2015/

    • Conrado Falco · January 30, 2015

      CONRADO FALCO SAYS: We agree on the Avengers trailer, the “broodingness” is what turned me off too. Yeah, I was underwhelmed by Guadians and Cap… I know i’m in the minority, but I’m kind of getting tired of Marvel’s schtick.

      As for Inside Out… well, l didn’t love the trailer, but then again, I didn’t like the trailer of Toy Story 3 either, and that turned out to be great.

      And looking at your list I can’t believe I forgot about Mission Impossible 5! I’m so excited about that!

      • smilingldsgirl · January 30, 2015

        See I feel like Marvel has been very different. Capt 2 was a mix of Mission Impossible and superhero movie where Guardians was light and fun. I dont see them as having a single shtick.

        But anyway it’s tough to know from trailers so we will just have to see. I have a feeling for me it is going to be a weaker movie year in 2015 than 2014. I loved 2014.

        They are moving MI5 up to the summer which is a good sign. Hope it will be good.

Leave a Reply

