List of the Week: Those Silly Globes

GHB_4805 20130117.CR2

The Globes giveth and the Globes taketh away… In honor of the occasion, let me do a quick list of the nominations that made me jump off my seat, and the ones that me groan at my computer. Without further ado, the “Best” and “Worst” of this year’s Golden Globe nominations!

Best:

1. The Grand Budapest Hotel had a very good morning, with four very valuable nominations on its way to the Oscars, including a Best Lead Actor (Comedy or Musical) citation for Ralph Fiennes’ outstanding work, and even more surprisingly, a Best Director nomination for Wes Anderson. Could this finally be the year that he breaks big with the Academy? The timing wouldn’t be bad, since Budapest is his best film yet.

2. I must admit I’m not caught up with the show, but I really loved the first few episodes of Jane the VirginSo much so, that I wrote about it on the blog. If you read that article, then you already know I’m ecstatic at the show being nominated for Best Comedy or Musical Series, and that its star, the lovely Gina Rodriguez, is also nominated. The feat is even more impressive when you consider the fact that the show airs on the CW, a channel whose awards traction is usually relegated to the Teen Choice Awards.

3. Another great new series that got more traction that I expected, is Amazon’s lovely TransparentI was expecting Jeffrey Tambor to get nominated for his amazing performance, but the show getting in for Best Comedy or Musical Series is a wonderful, and deserving, surprise.

4. Keeping the conversation to television, I was also super happy to see Orange is the New Black get three nominations after it didn’t get much last year. Even Uzo Adubo managed to get a Supporting Actress nomination. It also look like it might be the front-runner to win the Best Comedy Series award, and I’m more than ok with that.

5. I don’t want to sound like one of those people who get excited for a movie they haven’t seen yet, but just the fact that Selma director Ava DuVernay got a nomination, which means she’s very likely to become the first African-American Woman to get nominated for a Best Director Oscar (maybe even win!), makes me very, very happy.

Worst:

1. It was also a big morning for The Imitation Gamewhich is not a horrible movie, but presents a level of mediocrity that shouldn’t be rewarded by awards bodies, and yet, it very often is. It’s definitely got to do with the fact that awards puppet-master Harvey Weinstein is backing the film, but still, five nominations is way too much for this disappointment of a movie.

2. Just a couple days ago I wrote about my Golden Globe wish-list in the comedy categories. None of those wishes came to pass, and the most heartbreaking one was Jenny Slate being ignored in the Best Lead Actress Comedy or Musical category. Her performance in Obvious Child is one of the best in any genre this year, but I guess they just had to make room for Quvenzhané Wallis in Annie (which by the way, is a horrendous movie that doesn’t capture an ounce of the sparkle Wallis showed in Beasts of the Southern Wild, instead turning her into an uncharismatic zombie).

3. The LEGO Movie and The Boxtrolls are pretty good, and I haven’t seen The Book of Life, but the Animated Feature category feels very disappointing this year. Nominating five films and not making room for The Tale of Princess Kaguya is just wrong. Well, I guess they just had to nominate such big-studio nonsense as Big Hero 6 and How to Train Your Dragon 2

4. In the television categories, nothing makes me more depressed than the fact that Ray Donovan stars Liev Schreiber and Jon Voight took two nominations that could have gone to any number of deserving actors. I don’t watch the show regularly, but I’ve seen my dad watch it enough times to know it’s pretty bad.

5. I don’t have anything against Robert Duvall personally, but it’s starting to look like he’ll be nominated for the Oscar, which means my obsessive brain won’t leave alone until I watch The Judge, and judging by the reviews and that dismal trailer, I really, really, don’t want to.

You can see a full list of this year’s Golden Globe nominations here.

One comment

  1. smilingldsgirl · December 16, 2014

    I agree Kaguya should have gotten the Book of Life spot. I loved Big Hero 6 and How to Train Your Dragon 2 though so we differ on those. I thought both were exciting, well drawn and had tremendous heart. Not nonsense to me. Great year for animation.
    I’m bummed to see the reviews of Annie because I thought the trailer actually looked kind of cute. Oh well.
    The only show I watch that was nominated is Downton Abbey. I would have loved the Goldbergs to be nominated which I think is the funniest show on TV right now. I guess I don’t have tastes that align with Hollywood Foreign Press. :)
    Aside from animated the only other film I had seen is Boyhood which deserves all the awards it can get. I was disappointed to see Dawn of the Planet of the Apes shut out and that Andy Serkis wasn’t rewarded for the brilliant ACTING he does.

    It might have been nice to see Guardians of the Galaxy get nominated.

Leave a Reply

