This Week in Movie Podcasts: November 5-21

Another week, another podcast. Here’s the rundown.

Podcast of the Week:

Battleship PretensionThis is a big week for the guys over at Battleship Pretension. Not only do they celebrate their 400th episode by indulging in a really fun conversation with comedian Matt Champagne, and not only do they continue with their “Film Journal” supplement, in which they talk about the movies they’ve seen recently, including thoughts on Christopher Nolan’s Interstellar and Paul Thomas Anderson’s  Inherent Vice, but they also recorded a live commentary of the Lord of the Rings trilogy, which you can buy for $10 on their website.

So, yeah, the commentary is the primary reason why I singled them out as “Podcasts of the Week”, and I understand that you might not be ready to spend ten dollars on a commentary by people you might not be familiar with, so I’ll tell you what are the reasons to buy it, and if you find yourself agreeing with me, well, it’s your money. If you are already a fan of Battleship Pretension, and especially if you enjoy their guest episodes, in which the guys go on some pretty hilarious tangents, then you’ll enjoy the commentary. Also, if you, like me, love the Lord of the Rings movies, but are not a huge nerd that thinks they are the pinnacle of filmmaking, you will really enjoy the commentary.

To be honest, I had kind of forgotten how much I loved these movies, and what a huge part of my childhood they were. Hearing these guys talk about them made me feel nostalgic and all, but it also made me think, now that I’m engaging with these movies as an adult, about what makes them such a powerful story, and why they were no fluke. We weren’t enchanted by the novelty of these movies, Peter Jackson was truly onto something when he was making them, even if his latter career makes it seem like he’s not the talent that we once thought he was.

Other Highlights:

NOTE: I spent most of this week listening to BP commentary, so I didn’t get to listen to that many podcasts, hence only two further recommendations. 

The CanonDevin Faraci and Amy Nicholson talk about Baz Luhrmann’s Romeo + Juliet, and they agree that it is a pretty great movie. I can’t disagree with that, but I can’t support Amy’s opinion that it is superior to Moulin Rouge!, which is not only Luhrmann’s masterpiece, but one of the best and most original movies of the new millennium.

NPR: Pop Culture Happy HourThey talk about Bennet Miller’s Foxcatcher, which they liked way more than I did, but the meat of the pie is their very funny conversation about movie trailers.

Leave a Reply

