Hit Me With Your Best Shot: Mean Girls (2004)

Screen Shot 2014-04-27 at 11.08.43 PM

It’s hard to believe it’s been ten years since the release of Mean Girls, which had a decent run in theaters only to become one of the most popular and influential movies of its generation. I was twelve at the time it was released. Maybe a little young to have seen it (some of the jokes went right over my head), but definitely not too young. I loved it. You see, at twelve, my obsession with the Oscars was just starting, so I was in a very “this kind of movie is good” and “this kind of movie is bad” mentality. It was also a year of discovery as I started watching as many movies as I could.  Mean Girls was the movie that made me realize that mainstream comedies could be great. Like really great.

So let’s talk about the movie. Watching this for “Hit Me With Your Best Shot” was a little weird, since Mean Girls is most remembered and praised for Tina Fey’s screenplay than for any of its visuals. That is probably deserved, since Fey’s screenplay is so hilarious and poignant, but director Mark Waters did a pretty commendable job in bringing North Shore High School to life and populating it with colorful characters. Really, the casting in this movie is off the roof. Nathaniel Rogers and Joe Reid just released a podcast commentary of the movie in which they very smartly point out how, unlike many lesser high school comedies, the cast of Mean Girls is so universally on point. And no one is more on point than Rachel McAdams as Regina George. This may very well be the best performance of her career, and I am still a little sad she hasn’t follow that up with better roles. But I probably don’t need to tell you how great she is. You probably remember all of her wonderful facial expressions, like my favorite shot right here. I mean, what is going on behind that face?

Screen Shot 2014-04-27 at 11.19.53 PM

Leave a Reply

