2013 Oscar Winner Predictions: Documentary Feature

The Square

I don’t have much time, so I’ll make this quick. Here’s the gist with the Documentary Category: the most talked-about documentary, and the one that has been mostly winning awards left and right is Joshua Oppenheimer’s The Act of Killing, which you might remember is the second best movie of 2013. It is definitely the best of the nominees, and a movie that I hope will be watched and remember for years to come. Many a critic and movie fan (me included) would love to see it win the Oscar. However, we also know how the Academy plays, and thus, most people are thinking the harrowing subject matter of the movie (the reenactment of genocide killings in Indonesia by the people who perpetrated them) will keep it from the win, with Oscar voters preferring to vote for 20 Feet from Stardom, a fun documentary about the career of backup singers such as Darlene Love, people that you have definitely heard in such famous records as The Rolling Stones’ “Gimme Shelter”. A win for 20 Feet from Stardom would go along with the logic that turned last year’s movie about forgotten musicans, Searching for Sugarman, the winner of this category. However, Sugarman, had much more buzz than 20 Feet going into the Oscars. Everyone seemed to be fascinated by the story of Rodriguez. If you were to ask me, knowing the kind of movie the Academy likes to reward in this category, I got this feeling that the winner will be The Square, which chronicles the Egyptian revolution of a couple years ago. Call it hunch, but don’t be surprised if it wins Sunday night.

Will Win: The Square

My Pick: The Act of Killing

5 comments

  1. The Animation Commendation · February 25, 2014

    I’ve recently put my Oscars Predictions list up on my blog. Check it out if you’re interested.

    • Conrado Falco · February 25, 2014

      I just checked them out. We’re predicting a lot of the same stuff, but if I’m being honest I just don’t get why you’re picking Meryl Streep to win, to me it’s so clearly Cate Blanchett

      • The Animation Commendation · February 25, 2014

        Don’t worry, you’re not the first person to disagree with me in that category.

        To be fair, I haven’t seen either “August: Osage County” or “Blue Jasmine”, so most of my predictions are based on trailers and random video clips and when I was making this list (I did this like 2 weeks after the nominees were announced), I think I did have an internal struggle deciding whether to pick Meryl Streep or Cate Blanchett as the winner. In the end, Meryl Streep won…I guess.

  2. davecrewe · February 25, 2014

    I’ve heard good things about The Square – which I’ve yet to see – but The Act of Killing has so much power and insight; I really hope it wins.

    • Conrado Falco · February 25, 2014

      The Square is actually pretty good, but yeah, Act of Killing is just amazing. By far my favorite in the category.

Leave a Reply

